El Tigre: The Adventures of Manny Rivera | 31.08.1815:21 Uhr Willi Herren - Acht Milliarden Herzen Dance320 kbit/s 0 / 01.724 Hits VID P2P DDL 0 Kommentare | Hellcats S01 1080p AMZN WEB-DL DD2 0 x264-TrollHD
News

Facebook just made it harder for you to leave Facebook

Facebook has been a scandal factory this year. From democracy-skewing data breaches to being woefully unprepared to stop the spread of genocide-baiting fake news in parts of the third world, the social network giant has given users plenty of reasons to want to quit the big blue. This latest change to Facebook’s terms and conditions could be seen as a bit of a cynical move.

Facebook has doubled the amount of time users must wait before they can delete their account

Facebok extends grace period to delete account 30 days
Image via: Pixabay

If you want to quit Facebook and delete your account, Facebook will ask you to wait a grace period. This is to give you the chance to rethink your decision so that you don’t do something rash, that you might later regret.

During the grace period, your account remains inactive, but accessible. Facebook has now more than doubled this grace period from 14 days to a whopping 30 days. Yep, if you want to delete your Facebook account, you now have to wait a full month do so.

With everything that is going on, you could be forgiven for thinking this is a bit of a dubious move. Facebook, however, claims to have extended the grace period in the best interests of users. Speaking to The Verge, a Facebook spokesman said, “We recently increased the grace period when you choose to delete your Facebook account from 14 days to 30 days … We’ve seen people try to log in to accounts they’ve opted to delete after the 14-day period. The increase gives people more time to make a fully informed choice.”

It is up to you to make your own judgment on why Facebook has made this move. It could be to give you more of a chance to think about what you’ve done, or it could be designed to keep Facebook user numbers inflated for an extra couple of weeks.

How to delete your Facebook account

If you’d like to delete your Facebook account, all you have to do is:

  1. Click on the drop-down menu in the top right corner of the Facebook page and select Settings.
  2. Then click Your Facebook information.
  3. At the bottom of the list that opens you’ll see the option Delete your account and Facebook information. Hit View.
  4. You’ll then be presented with the options to Deactivate Account, so that you can still use Messenger, and Download Info, if you want to save your Facebook posts and photos before deleting your account.
  5. Once you’re happy hit Delete Account at the bottom of the page. You’ll then have to input your password.
  6. After you’ve input your password you’ll be told about the new 30 day grace period and then be given the final button to delete your account.
  • Link Copied!
Loading comments